Idomeneo MET in HD

GLORIOUS!!!!! I can not think of another word than GLORIUS!!!  GLORIOUS Mozart!!!! GLORIOUS Idomeneo!!!! GLORIOUS Matthew Polenzani!!!!  Yesterday I couldn’t sleep because I was still in heaven after the glorious performance! The HD simulcast of Mozart’s “Idomeneo” was MAGNIFICENT and beyond of Glorious!!!!!  Oh my I don’t know how to start my unforgettable experience of Idomeneo!!! Matthew Polenzani became definitely “Idomeneo”! His singing was absolutely beautiful and deeply moving, Matthew made me cry with his absolutely gorgeous singing, Matthew Polenzani is definitely today, one of our greatest Tenors of our time and we are so fortunate to live in the opera era of Matthew Polenzani!
The overture, the glorious quartet, the chorus, Matthew’s performance, all… everything was so glorious!!!!  There are many different wonderful Operas related to the war of Troy and of course Idomeneo, is a true example of it. The thing that I love about the opera Idomeneo is the subject of “love”, the relationship between father and son… the love of Idomeneo for Idamante and the pain that he suffers due to his vow to Neptune to sacrifice the first man that he meets on land… and as we know… it is his own son Idamante (another good opera about this subject is Gluck’s “Iphigénie en Aulide”) and the love and link between family is something that I feel so strong personally and also, the love, between Idamante and Illia, in which their own fathers were enemies… it show us that love can be stronger than war, hate, ambition and power and that at the end, love saved the kingdom of Crete and its people. And thats what it makes Idomeneo a beautiful Opera, the glorious music and singing and magnificent performances were heartbreaking and I left the auditorium in tears of joy. My heart was in pure joy listening and watching Matthew Polenzani which is his greatest moment ever in his beautiful career. Matthew has gave us so many joys to our lives and hearts in so many wonderful performances, it seems like it was yesterday when we saw him for the first time ever at the MET in the short role of the master of ceremonies in The Queen of Spades and later as David in the 2004 version of Die Meistersinger von Nurnberg. So many joys Matthew gaves us later, L’Elisir d’amore, Maria Stuarda, Don Pasquale, Cosi fan tutte, the Pearl Fishers, Roberto Devereux and now… Idomeneo in which Matthew is at the top of his beautiful career and Matthew Polenzani is making history now in the history of modern Opera. Matthew Polenzani performed “Idomeneo” with true dignity and only a giant can do that. Matthew was majestic, heartbreaking, poetic… MAGNIFICENT!!! His beautiful singing and performance was out of this world! In my Opinion, Matthew Polenzani’s name, along with many of my other favorite Opera artists of today will be remembered along with other legends of the Opera! We are living a new golden age of Opera!  Matthew, what he did today was beyond of incredible and beautiful, he made me cry and his performance as Idomeneo was absolutely heartbreaking, so moving and deeply touching, I felt his pain and his tortured soul in his beautiful singing and acting. Definitely, (and I hope that I am not exaggerating here) Matthew Polenzani is making himself a new legend of the Opera. BRAVO, BRAVISSIMO Matthew Polenzani!!!!!!!!!  Your Idomeneo is one of the GREATEST performances ever in the recent years of wonderful performances from the Met!!!! BRAVO, BRAVISSIMO again Matthew Polenzani!!!!!!! Alicie Coote was also very good as Idamante and I liked her performance very much! She performed the role of Idamante beautifully and perfectly and she also deserves a huge BRAVA, BRAVISSIMA Alice Coote!!!! Nadine Sierra, she was also absolutely wonderful as Ilia and her singing was absolutely exquisite and beautiful. Nadine Sierra is also making of herself a brilliant and wonderful career and the more I listen to Nadine the more fan I am of her!!! Her Ilia was absolutely moving and touching! BRAVA, BRAVISSIMA Nadine Sierra!!!!! And finally….. I got very, very impressed again with the amazing Elza van den Heever, her Elettra was absolutely amazing and out of this world, what a performance (and I still also remember the also wonderful Hildegard Behrens in this role in the 1982 version with Luciano Pavarotti!) and she was simply magnificent  BRAVA BRAVISSIMA Elza van de Heever!!!! I absolutely LOVED the extraordinary documentary of Maestro James Levine rehearsing with Jessye Norman and Kathleen Battle in “Ariadne auf naxos”, that moment was magical for me and I absolutely loved it!!! I adore Jessye Norman, James Levine and Kathleen Battle and it was a huge pleasant surprise for me to watch this unforgettable documentary during the second intermission.  What else can I say about the glorious MET Opera Chorus, in which they performed a very special part in this beautiful Opera… the Chorus gave me lots of goosebumps and I also loved the interview with Donald Palumbo! BRAVI MET Opera Chorus!!!! And also a huge BRAVI to the always magnificent MET Opera Orchestra and a special BRAVO, BRAVISSIMO, to our always beloved and now living legend Maestro James Levine!!!  It is always a huge joy for me to watch Maestro James Levine conducting, because I feel his love and passion for this beautiful art and that he loves what he does and I will always be thankful for him, for giving us so many, many, many, many beautiful, historical performances at the MET. Yes, Maestro James Levine is now a living legend.  BRAVO, BRAVISSIMO Maestro James Levine!!! And I must say that Eric Owens deserves an extra double BRAVO…. first as a host, who was wonderful as always and also for his special singing as Neptune in the final moments. BRAVO, BRAVISSIMO Eric Owens!!!!! (It was so cute when at the end of the second intermission Eric Owens said, that his job as a Host was over because he had to get ready to sing Neptune’s part ) Yesterday‘s HD of Idomeneo was absolutely amazing and I must say, one of the greatest HDs ever!!!!! You don’t imagine how much I cried after this beautiful, performance! (And once again, I had to clean my face)  This HD performance was a true example of poetic beauty, dramatic singing and acting and that’s what it makes Opera, the art of all arts…. drama, poetry, tragedy, music and theatre, all arts together.  And I have to say that I am also a fan of the original production of 1982 with Luciano Pavarotti, Illeana Cotrubas, Frederica von Stade and Hildegard Behrens but yesterday’s performance  will be also remembered in the history of Opera and with this new performance of Idomeneo, with the same production, set and costumes by Jean-Pierre Ponnelle is a true example that we are living a new golden age of Opera. And what of our lives would be without the glory of Mozart? Mozart gave so much to the humanity and today, we experienced one of the many treasures that Mozart gave us from his incomparable talent and Mozart’s genius will never repeat again in history. Men like Mozart or da Vinci, will never repeat again in history of humanity. Long live Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart!!!!!!! Mozart plus Matthew Polenzani…. yesterday, March 25, was a day… that I will never, ever forget.  I had the most amazing experience with the HD of Mozart’s Idomeneo and I will never forget it in years.  This incredible performance left me without breath! Thank you Mozart, thank you Maestro James Levine, Thank you, Matthew Polenzani!
Mozart, Maestro James Levine and Matthew Polenzani, are a treasure of humanity.

 

Image may contain: 1 person, standing and text
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

