Happy 85th Birthday, John Williams!

 

Happy 85 Birthday to John Williams!!!! I know, maybe John Williams took “this…. and that….. ” from many classical composers (Puccini, Stravinsky, Dvorak) for his film scores (He indeed is an opera and classical music fan   ) but he marked my childhood with his music for such films like the original Star Wars movies, the Indiana Jones trilogy and specially….. …..Jaws.
(I always think that “Jaws” is a masterpiece because of the three excellent protagonists, Roy Scheider, Richard Dreyfuss and the great, magnificent Robert Shaw and the brilliant, terrifying music)
I am grateful that for such films like Jaws, Star Wars or Indiana Jones, filmmakers like George Lucas and Steve Spielberg decided to use symphonic music instead of the popular 70s Disco songs that were very popular as “soundtrack music” in the film industry back then in the 70s.
The symphonic music of John Williams made an education in my childhood by listening to symphonic music in films (that and also when my family took me to my first classical music concerts at age 7 ) and also made me love, when I was a kid, to read the final credits of each film just by listening to the music of John Williams (Now in these days is weird that people stay to read the final credits of a film)
Anyway… The symphonic music of John Williams is a way that I think that can bring people to get close to classical music and that is why I celebrate him )
John Williams changed the film industry with his unforgettable film scores!
(Ennio Morricone, Maurice Jarre, Bernard Herrmann are my other favorites)
John Williams brought music to many wonderful characters of history of cinema, Indiana Jones…. Luke Skywalker, Darth Vader, Harry Potter, a Shark, Dinosaurs, Superman, ET, a spoiled boy left alone at home on Christmas (Home Alone) …. etc, etc….
I have many, many beautiful happy memories from my childhood with the music of John Williams…. Indiana Jones, Jaws and Star Wars are my favorites. (I also like the Home Alone them   ) Do you all have a favorite John Williams moment?
Happy 85 Birthday, John Williams!

 

 

 

 

 

Happy 85 Birthday, John Williams!

Image may contain: 5 people
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

