A Christmas Carol, By Charles Dickens

Imagen relacionada

 

My all time favorite book of this season is of course, “A Christmas Carol” by Charles Dickens and I highly recommend to read the book (besides of watching the many beautiful film adaptations, including also a ballet based in the classic tale of Scrooge!) because not only because of the season… I recommend it to both believers and also not believers because “A Christmas Carol” gives us a powerful, profound message about human kind and that all of us, must be generous and that we have to care about the most important things of life and also about many people that suffer in life…. – not only on Christmas Time – but in the 365 days of the year. Charles Dickens gave us so many lessons of humanity in his many wonderful books but specially in “A Christmas Carol” in which I think that every person on earth should know this story – and I am not telling it about “knowing this story as in the “cultural or intellectual way” but knowing it in the heart… as a lesson for our lives and that is why I am sharing here in my post my favorite quotes from “A Christmas Carol”. There are so many, many wonderful quotes that I love from “A Christmas Carol” but it is impossible to share them all here  
If the entire world would love this beautiful story written by Dickens… the world would be, indeed different. But I still have hopes for humanity   I know many good, wonderful people in this world and that is why I celebrate this Christmas story . because I believe in good people. And like Tiny Tim says it…. “God Bless us everyone”!

“Old Marley was as dead as a door-nail Mind! I don’t mean to say that, of my own knowledge, what there is particularly dead about a doornail. I might have been inclined, myself, to regard a coffin-nail as the deadest piece of ironmongery in the trade. But the wisdom of our ancestors is in the simile; and my unhallowed hands shall not disturb it, or the Country’s done for. You will therefore permit me to repeat, emphatically, that Marley was as dead as a doornail.”

“There are many things from which I might have derived good, by which I have not profited, I dare say,’ returned the nephew. ‘Christmas among the rest. But I am sure I have always thought of Christmas time, when it has come round—apart from the veneration due to its sacred name and origin, if anything belonging to it can be apart from that—as a good time; a kind, forgiving, charitable, pleasant time; the only time I know of, in the long calendar of the year, when men and women seem by one consent to open their shut-up hearts freely, and to think of people below them as if they really were fellow-passengers to the grave, and not another race of creatures bound on other journeys. And therefore, uncle, though it has never put a scrap of gold or silver in my pocket, I believe that it has done me good, and will do me good; and I say, God bless it!” (Fred, the nephew of Scrooge)

“There is nothing in the world so irresistibly contagious as laughter and good humor.”

“It is required of every man,” the Ghost returned, “that the spirit within him should walk abroad among his fellowmen, and travel far and wide; and if that spirit goes not forth in life, it is condemned to do so after death. It is doomed to wander through the world — oh, woe is me! — and witness what it cannot share, but might have shared on earth, and turned to happiness!” (The Ghost of Jacob Marley)

“Business!” cried the Ghost, wringing its hands again. “Mankind was my business. The common welfare was my business; charity, mercy, forbearance, and benevolence were all my business. The dealings of my trade were but a drop of water in the comprehensive ocean of my business!” (the Ghost of Jacob Marley)

“He has the power to render us happy or unhappy; to make our service light or burdensome; a pleasure or a toil. Say that his power lies in words and looks; in things so slight and insignificant that it is impossible to add and count them up: what then? The happiness he gives, is quite as great as if it cost a fortune” (About Fezziwig)
( MY PERSON NOTE: this quote about Fezziwg made a huge impact on me because it tells how a person, can make a big difference in life, by making many person’s lives more happier and pleasant, just like Mr Fezziwg did with young Scrooge)

“They are Man’s and they cling to me, appealing from their fathers. This boy is Ignorance and this girl is Want. Beware them both, and all of their degree, but most of all beware this boy for on his brow I see that written which is Doom, unless the writing be erased”
(The Ghost of Christmas Present)

““I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year. I will live in the Past, the Present, and the Future. The Spirits of all Three shall strive within me. I will not shut out the lessons that they teach!” (Ebenezer Scrooge)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

