Richard Strauss, 150 Anniversary

Today, June 11 of 2014, we are celebrating the 150th anniversary of Richard Strauss, one of the greatest and most important German composers of the beginning of the 20th century.

His Operas, “Salome”, “Der Rosenkavalier”, “Elektra”, “Die Frau ohne Schatten”, “Ariadne auf Naxos”, “Arabella”, “Capriccio” and ” Die schweigsame Frau” are masterpieces of the history of Opera.

The Legacy of the music of Richard Strauss is historical.

Richard Strauss also composed tone poems like “(the very famous) “Also sprach Zarathustra” (Thus Spoke Zarathustra) , “Don Quixote”, “Don Juan”, “Tod und Verklärung” (Death and Transfiguration), “Eine Alpensinfonie” (An Alpine Symphony) and “Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche” (Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks).


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s